SmackDownOnYou Review

SmackDownOnYou is a newzNab based NZB site that currently indexes over 135 groups. They have a policy of avoiding foreign based groups. The site currently boasts over 1000 members.

About SmackDownOnYou as of September 2014

  • Currently Open for registration – Requires Payment.
  • Offers Donation and Paid Accounts
  • RSS feeds and API Support
  • Advanced RegEx For Release Detection, More NZB’s Than Any Other Site!
  • Low-Key, VIP Only, Hosted Outside Of US!
  • SSL Supported/Enforced!
  • Deep Password Protection So No Passworded Releases Are Indexed!
  • Full API – Compatible With Sickbeard, Couchpotato, Headphones & More!
  • Custom Built Features, Similar To NZBMatrix & Newzbin2.
  • Unique Scene PREDB, With Ability To Search For NZB
  • Unique Reporting Features That Keep Releases Virus Free
  • Unique Dead NZB Reporting To Save Our Users Bandwidth!
  • Unique Point Based Comment System, Earn Rewards For Commenting!
  • 1650 Day Retention
  • Usenet Indexed Every 30 Seconds!
  • 150 Groups, Moderated & Active Community!
  • New Features Added Weekly!

Membership Accounts

During registration of new members, see below the pricing plans that you can choose;

  • $125/Yr – Unlimited Guide API Hits with Farm Access
  • $75/Yr – Unlimited Guide API Hits without Farm Access
  • $45/Yr – 2500 Daily Guide API Hits
  • $25/Yr – 1000 Daily Guide API Hits
  • $15/Yr – 500 Daily Guide API Hits
  • $450 –Lifetime– Unlimited Guide API Hits with Farm Access
  • $250 –Lifetime– Unlimited Guide API Hits without Farm Access
  • $180 –Lifetime– 2500 Daily Guide API Hits
  • $100 –Lifetime– 1000 Daily Guide API Hits
  • $60 –Lifetime– 500 Daily Guide API Hits

Existing users can upgrade accounts by means of Donation.

  • Donate – $50 – Unlimited API With Full Access To All Features (see above)

The site uses Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Paypal as their payment method.

The service indexed groups for Console, Movies, Audio, PC, TV, XXX, and more, it is excellent for those who use applications such as;

NZBs

SmackDownonYou is currently backfilling all their groups and they update their indexes every 3 minutes. The concept of the site is based on NZBMatrix. They want to add many of the features that were available on that site and several of their own design. The site will eventually backfill to a maximum of 1,065 days.

This site is only VIP and it has a forum. The developers describe the forum as active. The developers behind the site have backgrounds in PHP, JavaScript, Java, Python, Perl, Bash, Applescript, C and an emphasis on Android.

The site is currently aiming to be included in the next release of Sickbeard and they say that they are the only option being discussed on those forums at the minute.

Readers

The developers are fans of SABnzbd. They also recommend Sickbeard, Couchpotato and XBMC htpc.

The developers recommend that you switch your search settings so that they operate at a faster pace, due to the high demand on providers.

SmackDownOnYou has some very nice graphic elements to it and a slick design that makes it easy to use. It is also very fast and, by following the developer’s advice, users should experience decent search times.

If you’re interested in trying out SmackDownonYou, you can email the developers from the page to get an invite. The number of users is still relatively low, but there should be enough activity on the forums to help you navigate the site. This is one of many new NZB indexers that have come out in recent months and the look of the site and the possible integration with Sickbeard make it something that users may want to take a look at as an option.



Share This Webpage


SmackDownOnYou

Editor Rating
Not Recommended
Info
Price$15/Yr
StatusOpen
NZBs250K
Members4K
PlatformNewznab+
BitcoinNo Bitcoin Accepted No

UsenetServer

Best Usenet Service Providers Listings

GiganewsUsenetServerSupernewsNewshosting
Best Quality
Giganews Review
Retention:2400
50% Off & Free VPN
Visit Giganews
Best Deal
UsenetServer Review
Retention:3202
$7 Monthly w/ YR plan
Visit UsenetServer
Excellent Deal
Supernews Review
Retention:2357
$9.99 Month Unlimited
Visit Supernews
Best Free Newsreader
Newshosting Review
Retention:3202
$9.99 M. & Newsreader
Visit Newshosting

49 Comments about SmackDownOnYou Review


  1. RobSys on June 25th, 2013

    This is what is now a standard NZB collator using the same software that everybody does and they charge seriously(!) for the privilege.

    They do not appear to update their listings in most of the groups. Some, like a.b.e-book have not been updated in 18 weeks!

    This is ridiculous for a paid site!

    This mob is definitely NOT RECOMMENDED!

    You can do better and cheaper elsewhere…

  2. mistercrunch on July 7th, 2013

    I paid for the service and it stopped working. I contacted the site admin about it and didn’t get an answer.

    The admin also sends a lot of email to try to get you to pay more for extra services. So anyhow, pass on that one. Free ones are better.

  3. johnDee on September 8th, 2013

    NOT RECOMMENDED – IN FACT BE WARNED! IMHO STAY AWAY

    They have started to ask for $50 extra to add some services on top of what existing users pay for. But they havn’t delivered. I know of several who have complained and asked for money back but they didn’t get it. Instead they had their whole account deleted – even forum postings!
    I think this may be a scam.
    At the very most only pay for short term because with so many disgruntled users they are going to be reported and slated around the forums and the copyright protection agencies. I can’t see them being around for long.

  4. Neil on September 11th, 2013

    i dont know what problems you are having johnDee but i upgraded my account and i have gotten the extra services for it

    site works great for me Highly recommended

  5. jessered on September 24th, 2013

    “YOU WILL BE TAKEN OFF SITE TO PAY, WE DO NOT PROCESS PAYMENTS HERE, A SISTER SITE HANDLES THEM FOR US. YOU WILL HOWEVER RECEIVE YOUR INVITATION INSTANTLY AFTER PAYPAL PAYMENT HAS BEEN MADE!!”

    Either the site owner or I have different expectations as to the meaning of the word “immediately”. Paypal has been paid and have not received an invite yet.

  6. zebulon on September 26th, 2013

    This is a scam site! Warning!! They will take your money and rip you off! 50 bucks for unlimited user- no delivery and no answer on support mails. Im not alone either to being fooled..

  7. cenotaph on October 4th, 2013

    Avoid them. Sent bitcoin, no immediate reply as promised on web site. No reply from contact email address No reply from djp in sickbeard forums who claims to be the owner of the site.

  8. nez on October 16th, 2013

    I have registered and decided to take a chance with them. I paid for the VIP access. And with in a few hours I had my status changed. But I have see a lot of people having issues a few weeks after I paid having issue with getting their status changed, it seams to be a hit or miss.
    But the money I paid it has been more then well worth it , for all the new backup sites they have added. I am able to complete a lot of files I wasn’t able to before. Last time I counted I think they are up to 70 backup account to be used. And 90% of the searches i do i come up with the content i was looking for.

  9. GizDrak on November 25th, 2013

    This site was great when it first came out I was one of the first to get access to the site when it first came a long to replace nzbmatrix. I donated $50 at that time for unlimited access. 6 or so months go by and they ask for another $50 saying that it will give us unlimited API calls and downloads something I thought we all already head but I guess I was wrong. it also promised backup newsgroup server to use as a added feature that did not go so well took a while for that to all work then it worked for a while then broke again then worked again was a pain. I should cut my losses and left the 2nd time they asked for money but I liked the site and it worked for what I needed. BUT now here we are almost 6 months later and this is the email I get.

    Dear SDoY User,

    Your account is set to expire within the next 30 days, which is why you are receiving this message. As discussed before, the annual charge is ready to be processed and will need to be taken care of in a timely manner to avoid service interruptions. Once again thank you for being a loyal customer to us, and without your support and annual fees we wouldnt be able to keep the doors open on this place. If you have any questions, please feel free to reply to this e-mail as it is a monitored address, and allow us up to 24 hours for a reply.

    You can make your annual renewal payment by clicking here

    You will also see an alert message on our homepage alerting you of the due fees.

    Thank You (SDoY Admin)

    So yeah to keep the access I have already put $100 in to having I have to spend another $125 to renew. I do not think so this is just uncalled for and insulting to everyone who has been a member of the site since day one.

    I am moving on and I would advise anyone to stay away from this site a less they just have money to throw at the screen.

  10. Jax on November 27th, 2013

    What GizDrak said above is absolutely true. I got the same message out of nowhere saying I needed to renew my account after about 6 months of having the highest level account.

    Right when they sent out that notice they also took down their forums so people couldn’t discuss it.

    Then today I log in and my account is suspended! So much for getting 30 days notice. I’m out. This site promises much more than they can deliver, are asking for lots more money than other sites, and didn’t even provide a full year of service for paid accounts.

    Stay away.

  11. Jan Klaassen on December 10th, 2013

    This site is a ripoff. They charge a lot of money for so called unlimited accounts. When they want more money, all of a sudden it is just an annual (or less) account, with limited access

    Stay clear of this POS.

  12. Peter on December 12th, 2013

    As others have mentioned. This site is now about churning new members and getting $$ out as much as they can. Their “unlimited” options are expensive and last less than a year. Not recommended.

  13. Deviant Khan on December 15th, 2013

    I signed up with this site when it first went online asking for $10 donations. I donated $20. When they started asking $50 for backup UseNet accounts I waited a while, and eventually contributed to that as well. This was 10/12/2013. My account suddenly expired 12/07/2013 asking for an additional $75 to renew. I made 4 attempts to contact them with no response.

  14. Vinny on December 27th, 2013

    As others have said, do not sign up or give these guys any money. I had a “lifetime” account as I signed up when they originally were opening. I also got the message that my account needed payment and has been closed. As expected, no responses from them either. Based on the comments here I hope this site crashes and burns very soon.

  15. player1ready on January 13th, 2014

    Same here, I had a lifetime membership and out of the blue my account has been disabled.

    Support emails go unanswered, time to move on i think, just a shame they got my money.

  16. john Smith on January 15th, 2014

    Dont go near this site. I had a lifetime VIP membership i bought at the start and like many other they out of the blue disabled my account.

    They are scum.

  17. Joe Sol on January 18th, 2014

    Same deal here. Signed up in Feb 2013, they disabled my account at the end of december and started sending emails 15 days after my account was disabled saying I had to renew. They killed my account in less then a year, based on the many other reviews I have seen on this NZB site short changing users for allot of money I would stay well away from them. The operator obviously has no morals. Now that I have been looking at other newznab based sites, they were not offering anything special anyway.

  18. Christopher on January 23rd, 2014

    They disabled my “lifetime” account, due to me not giving them more money? I bought my account thinking lifetime meant more than just 10 months.

    These guys (or just one guy) are scammers. All they did was ask for more donations throughout the year. Avoid completely. They often thought they were as good as nzbmatrix, precisely the opposite.

  19. Mar Brock on March 23rd, 2014

    This is a site not any better and not as good as some ripping folks off its sad to see ,dont they make enough if they did what they say they do they would be rich

  20. Stew on March 24th, 2014

    I paid for lifetime VIP account 1 year ago and 4 weeks ago they locked me out saying I owed them more money. I thought it was a mistake because they have been trying their best to sell everyone on their usenet server farm access that they have put together. I don’t need their usenet servers as I am happy with my own but they have basically terminated my being able to use my lifetime VIP account now. Not very nice and not very cool of them since the email I got when I first signed up thanked me for contributing to them buying new servers and getting their business started. I have left several emails to their admin as well as sent an email to the person who took my PayPal payment and have received no reply from them. Oh well – I am off to find a new nzb usenet indexing service and they won’t have me or these other folks as customers anymore. Too bad for them.

  21. daragh on March 29th, 2014

    complete and utter ripoff, there farm service never worked an d there support never answers, stay away from them!!

  22. Synntax on March 30th, 2014

    Guys are scammers site has gone down hill and now has asked me to renew when I paid for a lifetime…less than 10 months. They don’t respond to email or the forums. But keep asking for money anyways. Stay clear of this trash.

  23. Mr Winkie on March 30th, 2014

    This site should be listed as “Dead” with a warning to all not to attempt paying for membership. My “lifetime” membership and subsequent “donations” to keep the site going were not honored. Site tells me I need to pay for membership now.

  24. David on April 3rd, 2014

    I am in the very same position. I purchased a lifetime membership thinking lifetime meant lifetime. I was shocked to see that they deactivated my account. This is a SCAM site…AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!! There are other better sites out there that are not scammers. darthman

  25. Mr Winkie on April 10th, 2014

    Disabled my account even though I paid for a lifetime membership. Questions to support go unanswered.

    DO NOT SIGN UP for this site, you have been warned.

    Index goes down on a regular basis for long periods of time (months!). There are better free sites.

  26. Daryl Polo on April 11th, 2014

    This is my site – and I am operating it as I see fit. As a Russian — there never is a Lifetime of anything – and even if there was — whose lifetime? Think of this site as Chernobyl — it still exists — it may be toxic – but there are still those that will insist on living there. If you don’t like the service — feel free to use any other site you like – you won’t be missed.

  27. Frugal not Cheap on April 14th, 2014

    Like everyone else — signed up for “Lifetime VIP” Did not know that lifetime varies at the whim of the owner.

    Emails go unanswered — but I receive at least 1 a week continuously begging for more $$$ – which thankfully I never gave — and then account disabled for not paying an annual fee.

    I did not even get a year out of it.

    YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED — there are enough comments above that should serve as a warning to stay away from this site — and any other that this scam artist my decide to open.

    Giving him your credit card number should scare you given the apparent lack of business ethics and personal morals.

  28. Marion Marshall on April 15th, 2014

    Not sure this is the site owner but anyways your comment was posted

  29. Rastan on April 29th, 2014

    This site is a joke and so is he!!!! I Paid for full VIP, used for a while and then out of the blue my account was disabled wtf!!! Stay away you have been warned. This guy is a low life, useless sack of s**t and also a pathetic theif.

  30. Scott on May 7th, 2014

    Like everyone else — I signed up for “Lifetime VIP” Did not know that lifetime varies at the whim of the owner.

    I have emailed several times and they go unanswered — No notice or emails from them at all logged on 2 weeks ago setup sickbeard to work with it as they sugest and now disabled within a day.

    YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED — there are enough comments above that should serve as a warning to stay away from this site.

  31. Mark on May 7th, 2014

    I paid for a lifetime membership $50, and they canceled my membership just a few months later and asked me to pay again. Total scam site. STAY AWAY

  32. exoticatom on May 8th, 2014

    Hi,

    out of the blue my account is disabled.
    I have paid for VIP membership and for some additional stuff they offered.
    some XX$….

    since 2 weeks my account is disabled out of blue and no one answer my emails with explanation.

    I dint share my account or did anything which conflicts with any policy.
    Actually for the last 2 weeks (as I was on vacation) didnt use my account at all.

    my advice-stay away.

    just check how arrogant those ppl are:

    “Daryl Polo on April 11th, 2014
    This is my site – and I am operating it as I see fit. As a Russian — there never is a Lifetime of anything – and even if there was — whose lifetime? Think of this site as Chernobyl — it still exists — it may be toxic – but there are still those that will insist on living there. If you don’t like the service — feel free to use any other site you like – you won’t be missed.

    cheers

  33. nzbinsider on May 12th, 2014

    Site is a scam for stealing money. Do not sign up! They also cancelled my “lifetime” membership asking for annual renewal, and I haven’t been a member for a full year yet! Stay away. Sign up with a solid reputable service such as nzbgeek.

  34. Stew on May 12th, 2014

    I paid for a lifetime VIP membership – have the PayPal receipt to prove it
    Yet they cancelled my subscription after 1 year and continue to send me emails trying to get me to pay to sign up again.
    Good Luck with that – They refuse to answer my emails as well

  35. GBent on May 14th, 2014

    I purchased the premium service for $75 which entitles me to “lifetime access”. The several days ago my login was disabled claiming that I owe an annual renewal fee:

    “Your Smackdown API Access Has Been Revoked and Is Pending Deletion.”

    I’ve emailed them several times. The only response I get is a form letter and a link to renew my account. Clearly, I’ve been scammed. Don’t let this happen to you.

  36. AncientWisdom on May 25th, 2014

    Site is a scam! sign up at your own peril. Like other commentors I have paid for “lifetime” access but am now being bombarded with emails about my account being revoked and that I must pay etc. etc. I have emailed them but received no response.

    Much better sites out there, skip this one.

  37. Sorrenson on June 2nd, 2014

    Updat for review of smackdownonyou.com site is now complete scam , it shuts down indexing for a week at a time . The operator has not paid for extended news servers that do not work abut continues to sell the service

    The sites forums are full of complaints from members who signed up for 15 dollars and credit cards are billed 150. I posted to the people how to charge-back as the site is not giving refunds.. needless to say the operator killed my account

    lifetime accounts last days ..

    it now appears that the site is a cash grab , avoid like plague now .it appears to be a fraud site now..too bad..it was good for a bit

  38. John on June 3rd, 2014

    Ok, as you’ve all heard Smackdownonyou is a Scam.

    As with a lot of users, I also received an e-mail saying my account was disabled and I had to pay… Excuse me? I bought a lifetime access.

    Stay away, they’ll scam you, that’s guaranteed.

  39. Bob on June 6th, 2014

    Ok, some interesting reviews above, so let me share my experience.

    I bought a 1 yr subscription that was well above the basic at the start, despite having no real idea what I was going to get extra. TBH I didn’t care, I just wanted to help the site grow, so gave a little extra.

    I actually loved the site. The favourites thing is great and saves a lot of time hunting about. I also like the look of it compared to others.

    So everything was fine for ages. Then after a period of time it would either completely shutdown for days end no reason (and IIRC, no reason was ever given), or there would be no updates for days on end. As I write this there have been no updated NZBs for 5 days.

    It’s categorically not a scam, although I wouldn’t risk buying more than a modest subscription, cos you never know.

    I love the site. I just wish there less of these “dead” times. I have to resort to other sources to get my shit.

    Also, someone mentioned forums….what forums?

    Out of 10…, probably 5. Because of all the downtime.

  40. Bob on June 6th, 2014

    I just read a few more posts. Ok, you might want to not do the lifetime thing. But tbh, I dont see why anyone would do that anyway, with what happened to matrix and…whatever the good one I used before that was called.

  41. Burned SDOY User on July 4th, 2014

    Do NOT under any circumstances give SDOY any money. He cancels VIP accounts. He canceled my annual account nine months into the terms.

  42. ElC on July 12th, 2014

    Same as everyone else, paid for lifetime now it’s expired, still getting their spam begging for more of my money months later, they’re complete scammers, time for the ‘editors’ to update their rating.

  43. Brian on July 14th, 2014

    Scam artists, I paid for a lifetime and they shutdown my acct for non payment? Avoid!

  44. Defrauded on July 14th, 2014

    Sorry, Bob, this categorically is a scam.

    I (like many others) paid for an invite, paid more for lifetime access, and had my account disabled within a year. That’s called a scam. Was I expecting this site to be up in 20 years? No. But I was giving them money when they were new and trying to help.

    To top it off, indexes are frequently out of date by days or weeks. They advertise “Usenet Indexed Every 30 Seconds”.

    Stay away.

  45. Steve Martin on December 14th, 2014

    Admins are sleazy and I was ripped off. I paid $10 early on for lifetime access when they just started and then after a few months I had my account restricted until I paid more money. I emailed admin multiple times to get it worked out with no response. They will not live up to their promises.

  46. Mar Brock on August 3rd, 2015

    Cant you see the juy says Im the owner a Russian like that gives him right to rip us off I spent $15 when it first opened with their Ad Blitz (Pay now or???) threats online it is the wild west and these are the Robbers and quite proud of themselves dont get suckered in its no better than others
    Mar

  47. Ross on January 19th, 2016

    I think that they are Rip-Off artists

    I paid to renew my account and never got zip

    Emailed them numerous times and no answer back

    DON’T give them a nickle or you will just lose it.

  48. Mark on February 13th, 2016

    They have been know to be scam for some time now shame on you for not researching

  49. Daniel on February 4th, 2017

    exact same as everyone else. good when they first came out then started demanding payment or account gets cancelled. rip off scammers

Leave a comment about SmackDownOnYou Review