Usenet.nl Review

Usenet.nl Review
2.5 / 5
Usenet.nl Review
Rating 2.5 Stars
Price €19.99 / Month
Retention 2000 Days
Free Trial 30 Days or 600 GB
Features Built in Newsreader
Careful with Free Trial
6 Plans
Payment Credit Cards or Paypal

Usenet.nl hails from the Netherlands. They offer plans that have very fast download speeds up until a specified limit, after which your connection speed will slow down, and they throw in their own newsreader.

Quick Facts

  • Very Simple Plan Structures
  • 256-Bit SSL Privacy Protection
  • Five Server Farms
  • 3,000 Days Retention
  • Free Usenet Software

Binary Retention

Usenet.nl has more than 2000 days of binary retention, putting them in the same league as other good providers.

Pricing

Usenet.nl has a very simple package structure. There are only two packages. They offer the same features, but you’ll get a discount with the “Relax” version, which gives a discount for subscribing for twelve months. You can subscribe to SpyOff VPN for an additional fee.

Plan Price Download at Maximum Speed
Compact 11.95€ 35 GB
Relax 8.33€ per month/12 month subscription 35 GB

Free Trial Info

You can get a 30-day or 600 GB free trial of Usenet.nl by signing up. Note: Be careful with this free trial as you will be billed for a whole year if you go over.

Special Offers / Coupons

Right now, we don’t have any special offers from Usenet.nl, but check back because we share them when we get them.

Speed Test

Usenet.nl did very well in speed testing. If you’re not happy with the speed, try using another server farm or changing the number of connections you’re using.

Connections

Usenet.nl doesn’t specify connection limits, but most users will be able to get their maximum speed with 8-12 connections.

News Servers / Ports / Configuration

High speed:

  • Newsserver: power.usenet.nl
  • Port: 119/443 for unencrypted connections or port 563 for SSL connections

Standard Speed (2,000 kbit/s)

  • Newsserver: eco.usenet.nl
  • Port: 119/443 for unencrypted connections or port 563 for SSL connections

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Why would I want a USENET service in the Netherlands?
A: The Netherlands are a very privacy-friendly jurisdiction. Because the Netherlands might be better on privacy than your nation—or the nation of other users—having an account with a company located there might be of benefit.
Q: Is the preconfigured newsreader worth it?
A: It can be, particularly for users who are new to USENET. The good thing about it is that, if the newsreader supplied isn’t to your liking, you can copy the settings over to one you do like and try that out. USENET software is plentiful and varied, so never feel like you’re stuck with a newsreader you don’t like. There are always other options.
Q: Why did my downloads slow down?
A: Remember that this provider offers a form of metered access. While you can download all month long, if you burn through your data allotment early, you’ll be downloading at a reduced speed. Keep an eye on how much you’re downloading to avoid this. At the same time, 30 GB is a lot of data, so most users shouldn’t have a problem with overages.
Q: I keep seeing providers brag about the number of connections they offer. This one doesn’t. Why?
A: the number of connections you can make to a provider’s USENET servers is usually promoted in advertising, but it doesn’t really make that much of a difference. Most users won’t need more than 10-12 connections to max out their bandwidth. We don’t recommend that you rate a USENET service by the number of connections they allow. Generally, all of them offer plenty of connections and most offer more than you’ll need.
Q: What does EcoMode mean?
A: Slower downloading, basically. It’s just the term this provider uses for their slower server connections.
Q: My connection isn’t that fast. Is this a good option for me?
A: If your connection is slow, most any provider will do, but we recommend our best providers, as they give the most bang for your buck. If your Internet speed can’t max out what this provider offers, it won’t make any difference in your service, though. You’ll just download at your maximum rate.

Support

You can contact support via phone at: +1 877-257-3360
You can use the following address to contact support via a web form: https://en.usenet.nl/unf/shop/misc/support/miscSupportForm.cfm

Contact Information

Usenet.nl S.r.l.
Via XXV Marzo, 4
47895 Domagnano
San Marino
C.O.E. SM 22403

Company Privacy Policy

Usenet.nl says they do not collect information about your usage of the service beyond that required for payment and account usage monitoring.

Payment Options

You can pay for your subscription with PayPal and credit cards.

Our Opinion

While Usenet.nl is not our top recommendation, we would have to call them an OK service because of their built in newsreader. They’re located in a jurisdiction where the laws may well be more privacy-friendly than they are for the jurisdictions in which many of our readers live, so they deserve consideration on that alone. The plans are simple and straightforward and they have decent retention.

Users who aren’t that familiar with USENET might get a lot out of having a pre configured client. Some of our top providers offer this and some of them even offer web access to USENET articles, so it’s worth checking them out, as well, since they are the best companies out there, as far as we’re concerned.

The one thing that might be difficult for some users is the metered download speeds. When you run out, you might find that you’re only getting a fraction of your maximum broadband bandwidth from this provider and that might be frustrating. If you’re worried about that, go ahead and check out our top providers, as it’s a bit easier to understand than metered access.

With block access, you pay for a certain amount of data and, if you go over, your account just shuts off until it’s refilled instead of slowing down. Some of our readers save money by going that route, since they don’t really need a subscription to meet their needs.

Our top providers offer excellent support, flexible plans and other benefits on a larger scale than does Usenet.nl, however if you do decide to go with Usenet.nl be careful with the free trial. If you go over you will be billed for the year.


Top 5 Best USENET Providers


Share This Webpage


14 Comments about Usenet.nl Review


  1. Bernd on August 5th, 2010

    Provider went offline 2 days ago. No response since then…

  2. Mariana on November 5th, 2010

    I am frankly desperate for I suscribed usenet.nl just because I was looking for some books that supposedly they did have and could be downloaded. So stupidly, I suscribed and gave my credit card and personal data but once being a member of USENET.NL, the books weren’t nowhere to be downloaded. What is worst, I want to unsuscribe the very moment I realized that the site wasn’t safe ,but I can’t for there is no place to go and cancel it. They say to look for the members area in the site but there is none, and so on…. what shall I do?

  3. wayne powers on December 8th, 2010

    This service is a ripoff if you go and forget they nail you for almost $150. Half of what they had wasn’t useful anyway and it’s a lure which they hope you (as I did ) miss the 14 day trial, then stick you with a big bill for a service that you have no use for. DO NOT EVEN REGISTER FOR THEIR TRIAL, cause if you have some unexpected thing happen and you forget they will make you pay

  4. Andre on February 15th, 2011

    What happenebd to Wayne happenend to me…..Truth saying”Its out own fault,if you do some research. You’ll bound to find some better sites,recommenede than Use less.nl……Don’t even sign up…..

    Lesson learned….

  5. Suzana on November 27th, 2014

    Hi to anyone dealing with usenet.nl don’t they are a fraud!

    I was in a hurry trying to get hold of a file for a uni deadline, usually I do my googling with things like this but just rushed this time. The company makes it appear as if you are signing up for a free trial which will then be charged at 8.33 euros / month if you forget to cancel. Actually the charge you the full yearly fee straight up nowhere do you agree to pay a $99 dollar transaction in one hit. It may be hidden somewhere deep inside the fine print, but the information on the payment page and even the faq is very misleading and unclear, and make it sound like it’s 8.33 euros / month. If you have already been RIPPED OFF by usenet.nl DO NOT LET THE FINE PRINT DETER YOU FROM DISPUTING THIS CHARGE. This company is clearly trying their best to mislead and trick customers, and even if the $99 fine is hidden somewhere in the ten pages long fine print this is just not good enough – as a consumer you should not have to conduct and FBI investigation for what appears to be a small 8.33 euro transaction. This company do not deserve your money, so contact your bank and dispute the charge if you can!

    It is no point to contacting them, I used the form four times no reply, I tried two email addresses (mediarelations@usenet.nl and response@usenet.nl) supposedly posted by their customer service team on other complaints pages (more likely bots as it’s always the same generic message posted as an answer to all problems) and both emails bounce. Accroding to other people with problems you can’t phone them either you just end up in a never ending loop where you don’t get to talk to anyone, and no problem is dealt with! So unless you want to waste stress and money on international calls it’s probably easier dealing with PayPal or your credit card provider. I have seen posts of PayPal refunding this so I repeat do not be deterred by the fine print; you do not want nasty un-ethical people like this to have your money or credit card details.

    To top it off the software shows up as malware / virus, and I couldn’t even get the file that the search showed up they had on their servers. So basically they give you a shitty service a virus and charge you 99 euros for it while laughing at you!

    USENET.NL = ROTTEN EGGS!

  6. Suzana on December 13th, 2014

    I actually got them in a legal dispute! Jury found them guilty of anti trust issues. They are charged for about 1.3 million $(USD).
    Merry christmas everyone! :).

  7. John on January 14th, 2015

    I went to giginews site to register. Apparently I was redirected. I filled out all the info and up pops “welcome to usenetnl. They won’t answer my complaints. I’m canceling my credit card number before they rip me off.

  8. Buzz on June 19th, 2015

    usenet.nl must be dead! They will not answer the phone (Whatever time I call, it is not within “Business Hours”!
    My account that I paid a year in advance no longer works. They ask you to fill out an online form – BUT it will not accept it as it states my account info is incorrect.
    These guys are major criminals – AVOID USENET.NL AT ALL COSTS!!

  9. bruce manti on August 25th, 2015

    “THIS SITE IS A SCAM”
    8/25/15
    TRIED THE TRIAL AND WAS SENT A NOTICE THAT I WAS BEING CHARGED 99.00 EFFECTIVE THE NEXT DAY. I RESPONDED THE SAME DAY TO CANCEL THE TRIAL ONLY TO FINE OUT I HAD TO GO TO ANOTHER E MAIL LISTING TO CANCEL. THE ORIGINAL E MAIL WAS FROM A NON-RESPONSE SERVER. SO ONE DAY LATE AND THEY ARE COMMITTED TO KEEPING MY MONEY. POOR POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE !!! DO NOT JOIN OR TAKE OUT THE TRIAL MEMBERSHIP!!!

    Ask bruce about Usenet.nl

  10. Fah Q-usenet on January 4th, 2016

    **Warning – the following review contains obnoxiously vulgar language for the purpose of comedic-ally degrading Usenet.nl to the max, if you are easily offended by harsh language and occasionally graphic descriptions used as comparisons etc., please refrain from reading this review… However, if you would enjoy verbally, and maybe one day physically, assaulting Usenet as a company as much as I do, than please proceed ;)**

    This service is a complete SCAM! I signed up using the free 14 day trial, aware that i would be charged for the monthly package if I did not cancel before the trial was up… The day after I downlaoded their software, and had began my trial, i quickly realized that their service was terrible and I wouldn’t even use it were it completely free, EVER. I began trying to login to their site and figure out how to cancel my account and end my trial. This was pretty insane that they have almost no information on how to cancel your subscription (only upgrade to other awful plans for their terrible piece of shit service). Than, when I found info on how to cancel (which was to email two provided emails – one of which sent me a reminder on a later date before trial was up – and let them know that you wish to end your trial and subscription altogether). However, neither email did a damn thing… I tried emailing multiple times and either received a bullshit automated response that had not addressed my concern whatso-fking-ever. Other times the email just bounced. So, I found their other suggested alternative – calling their hotline (which is said to be available during certain inconvenient hours mon-fri, and sat only). Again, despite multiple attempts calling during their posted hours and also during off hours not once was I able to be connected to a human being, and most of the time I just spent time on the phone to be ultimately disconnected.

    Basically this scumbag scam clusterfck of a worthless scheming website/service only serves one sole purpose – to trick you into signing up for a “FREE” trial that requires your credit card – yes we all knew that – and to all of the people ive seen on forums posting comments about how anyone who is complaining is ignorant and should have read the terms before signing up for the trial, YOU are missing the MAJOR POINT….. Yes, of course we knew after the free trial which we all submitted a form of payment for of course they will charge after the trial should we decide not to cancel the subscription. Thats common fking sense (im sure 99% who have made those comments work for usenet or are simply excellent candidates to be on the receptive end of a darwin award one day in their future). The part that they don’t realize is that pretty much all of us who have been charged and are disputing usenet.nl making a $99 withdrawal from our accounts tried every bullshit various method possible to cancel our subscription in time, delete our account, even some people had to cancel their cards – and those who won the dispute because all major banks or paypal know that usenet is owned by a group of unethical scum bucket scam artists, still have to deal with debt collection agencies harassing them indefinitely for the $99 charge that (hopefully) the user was able to have refunded from their bank/paypal post disputing the charge. However, these debt collectors are just using scare tactics and even though they may persistently continue trying to reach you from different emails and other routes of harassment, do NOT give into the slimy uselessnet-dickless-debt-collectors, for they are trying to trick you into thinking you are liable to pay them and that you broke the law by not following the usenet.nl contract …. The contract that promises users that they will be able to cancel their free tial no problem but than doesn’t hold up to their end of the deal and, like the extremely immature and childish pee-ons that they are, use any number of their various scam-tactics to make sure it is IMPOSSIBLE for anyone to actually quit their service before the free trial is up (from giving faulty emails to send requests to, to providing hot-line phone numbers that even during the officially posted hours of operation wont even connect when you call them unless you are lucky enough to get an automated response taht will eventually drop anyway, to emails saying theyve received your request and will cancel your account/trial but than STILL charging your account anyway at some point after sending you the cancellation confirmation, etc.).

    TO THE EMPLOYEES (AND NON-EXISTENT CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS) OF USENET AND ALL OF THEIR ASSOCIATED DEBT COLLECTORS, A MESSAGE FROM ME TO YOU (and from the tons of other mislead customers usenet has clearly dicked over who have responded wayyyyy more maturely and politely than you chicken-fckers deserve):

    Dear filthy scum-dumpsters of Usenet.nl and all related associates,

    I hope you are having a wonderful day full of pain and suffering! I would just like to THANK YOU from the bottom of my testicals for doing a great job of providing such overwhelmingly AWFUL customer service, practicing FRAUDULENT, MISLEADING, and overall UNETHICAL business tactics, and especially for your complete lack of holding up to usenet’s END OF THE CONTRACT by making it even remotely possible to cancel the free trial and avoid being charged for a whole year up front for what is deceptively advertised as a monthly plan to use your awful service, “USENET,” which is so ironically USELESS to actually use for its intended purpose that it makes buying a full set of Firestone tires circa year 2000 to put on the car you use to transport your children in a considerably worthwhile purchase. It would be wonderful if you could proceed to take me off of your email list, remove my account and any other of my personal information linked to your fraudulent service, locate the nearest toilet plunger and put it to good use by first F*CKING YOURSELF before using it to unclog the loads of shit that seem to be overflowing from every asshole-like aspect of your business. Then perhaps try spending your time doing something that may help reach your desired goal of stealing hard-earned money from people who’s ass farts you would be lucky to inhale since you must spend quite alot of time around a company built upon business ethics that reek worse than a life-size replica of the taj mahal built in a third world country near the equator and made entirely of human feces & decomposing bodies. Instead of trying to convince me to pay your laughable invoice – which you apparently just help yourself to without confirming with customers to authorize purchasing your service – i get it, its so awful nobody in their right mind would buy it after a 14 day trial… only took me 10 minutes to realize pictures of cat memes would be a better use of my computers hard drive space (its okay though – i filed a fraud dispute with my bank, chase – youve probably heard of them seeing as they are a successfully enormous bank who likely refunds plenty of your victims all the time – and their CEO’s also likely wipe their ass with Usenets entire net worth, and they will be refunding me the entire amount of which you attempted to steal from me – good luck in your quest to steal my $ back, the cute attempt at using incompetent and unqualified debt collection agencies is a total waste of time silly Usenet, because i PROMISE you that i will NEVER EVER EVER give you so much as a cent of my money EVER. Usenet.nl has a better chance of finding an actual customer of usenet (who isn’t employed by them or paid by them) to write a positive review of their experience with the 14 day free trial that your “company” so generously offers – and no, the fake posts all over the internet defending usenet that are merely a weak attempt to seem written by customers are so obviously written by the unethical, unconvincing, unoriginal, and unlikely even human (or intelligent human) employees of Usenet. If you wish to continue pursuing the collection of this debt, nothing would make me more satisfied than to see your entire operation (including your other list of scam artist website just like usenet.nl / usenext, etc) taken down and cyber-skull-Fcked by Anonymous like they have done for so many other wonderful groups doing such positive things for humanity on the internet, such as the KKK & Westboro Baptist Church. Thank you for stealing my money during the holidays, merry christmas & a happy new year to you 🙂 Sending well-deserved karmic vibes your way – I hope they reach you sooner than later 😉

    Sincerely,
    Yushouldgow Playentraffik Sr.(sly)

  11. John Jenks on March 24th, 2016

    I think the previous poster has just about summed up Usenet.nl albeit using colorful language. I signed up on the 28th Dec but there is nothing there even if you can log-in. So I cancelled using their form as per the website and also my PayPal subscription to them the following day.

    Never received any confirmation of cancellation but they would have been notified by PayPal anyway. Then out of the blue, a week ago they’ve got some German debt collectors involved. So why is a company, based in San Marino using a German debt collector? Anyway, I responded politely via e-mail but apparently I didn’t cancel in the ‘correct fashion’ – their phrase not mine.

    Largely irrelevant as whether they like it or not the contract is governed by EU law and hidden small print does not override EU law. I pointed this obvious fact out to their debt collectors but they always respond with the ‘correct fashion’ statement. I will not be responding to them further and look forward should they decide to take the matter to civil court.

    Whatever, avoid them like the plague. If you can eventually manage to log-on there is nothing of value to be had. They are total scam artists and that’s being mild about it.

    There are numerous complaints about them and I’m surprised that Google accept paid adverts from them but such is profit eh!!

  12. burnedonce on October 30th, 2016

    DO NOT DISREGARD THE ABOVE, ITS ALL TRUE. It seems as if I will have to deal with debt collectors now too?? Paypal is your friend here but just why do it???

  13. Carissa on November 4th, 2016

    https://en.usenet.nl/ – FRAUD!!

    I cancelled my 14 day Trail period on the day i subscribed to the trail!

    They need took £99 off my account, for a subscription i did not authorize!

    Where else can i post this on, so that we can get this website removed!!!

  14. Rob on January 19th, 2017

    ALL TRUE – serious scam. DO NOT signup

Leave a comment about Usenet.nl Review