Newzbin2 Review

Last updated on May 31, 2017

Newzbin2 has been offline since 2012. The site was innovative in its time, offering a hand-picked index that made it easy to avoid wasting bandwidth downloading spam. The site peaked in popularity during 2006. Newzbin originated the NZB file format and, though Newzbin2 is long gone, the format remains one of the most popular options for downloading binaries. Newzbin2 offered features that would become standard for NZB sites, including VIP membership options and streamlined search features.

Alternatives to Newzbin2

There are plenty of great NZB sites out there and it would be remiss to say so without pointing out that they all owe something to Newzbin. If you want to download NZBs, take a look at our list of the best NZB sites of today. We constantly update our list and recommendations and include the platform, VIP options and other features that each site offers.



Share This Webpage


Newzbin2

Info
StatusDead

Best Usenet Service Providers Listings

9 Comments about Newzbin2 Review


  1. klaus mikkelsen on February 1st, 2010

    Hello Guys
    I’m interested in an invite to Newzbin, do you guys have one, or do you know where to get one?
    Thanks
    /Klaus

  2. adas on November 15th, 2011

    I’d review newzbin again. Yes they were pretty down at the time, but they’ve really picked up agaain

  3. THEPIYBULL on December 17th, 2011

    What a total joke this site is,,, I registered to find out that they charge double the price SORRY 18 TIMES the price that Matrix charge….. What the hell is that crap DONATE when you are already paying for the site ??????????

    It seems it is run by inbreds that just want to rip people off LEAVE IT WELL ALONE

  4. review four on November 26th, 2012

    Yup. A very crappy usenet provider. Retention rates are laughable. So fucking bad, you can’t find anything except garbage like their favourite pro-anglo freetibet spammerobilia. Try a real responsible professional service like giganews or just about any other usenet provider. Much better and much much cheaper if you go for the fixed annual rate. These assholes at newzbin try to scam you by asking you to topup the account over and over so literally you could be paying these scumbags hundreds or even a 1k in over inflated british pounds on an unfixed monthly basis. Pure fucking garbage. -5 stars.

  5. ToOn on November 29th, 2012

    @review four on November 26th, 2012
    You obviously are a complete n00b, i used newzbin since they started and they were in no way a provider, they were simply an indexer and it never, ever cost me more than 9 bucks for an entire year. Your review is nothing but lies based on your lack of knowledge..

  6. ToOn on November 29th, 2012

    And now for the reason i came here. Newzbin2 has closed, a sad day indeed! From their site:

    It is with regret that we announce the closure of Newzbin2.

    A combination of several factors has made this the only option. For a long time we have struggled with poor indexing of Usenet, poor numbers of reports caused by the majority of our editors dropping out & no-one replacing them. Our servers have been unstable and crashing on a regular basis meaning the NZBs & NFOs are unavailable for long periods and we don’t have the money to replace them.

    Newzbin2 was always hoped to be a viable underground commercial venture. The figures just don’t stack up. Newzbin1 was said to have had 700,000 registered users. In fact that was the total number of people who ever signed up in the history of Newzbin from 2000 onwards & only a fraction were active, loads of people dropped out & went to other sites. We reckon they had about 100,000 users and of those only a few 10’s of thousands paid premium topups.That still made good money for the Newzbin1 guys. We never quite got the trust and lots of people said “Newzbin2 is an MPA trap”, that stung us bad and we never got the userbase back. We don’t have much more than about 40000 active users and the number of premium users is in the small thousands. It costs much more to run than we bring in, It just doesn’t stack up.

    To make things worse all our payment providers dropped out or started running scared. The MPA sued Paypal and are going at our innocent payment provider Kthxbai Ltd in the UK. Our other payment provider has understandably lost their nerve. Result? We have no more payment providers to offer & no realistic means of taking money (no, Bitcoin isn’t credible as it’s just too hard for 90% of people).

    The tragedy is this: unlike Newzbin1 we are 100% DMCA compliant. We have acted on every DMCA notice we received without stalling or playing games: if there was a DMCA complaint the report was gone. Period. That was a condition of our advertising & payment partners so we complied but we never got a single complaint from the MPA. Not one.

    Will we be back? not as a search service but we might run a blog from this site at some point.

    Goodbye NB and thanks for all the fish!

  7. raggatwins on November 29th, 2012

    newzbin2 is dead RIP

  8. james on December 3rd, 2012

    will newzbin ever re-open under another name. I have been a member awhile

  9. Thomas on July 10th, 2013

    I just came back to see if something came up, I remember the sad day when it was closed. So im googling around to find alternatives?

Leave a comment about Newzbin2 Review