usenet reviews UsenetReviewz.com English de.usenetreviewz.com Deutch usenetreviewz.com Espanol nl.usenetreviewz.com Dutch Fr.UsenetReviewz.com Francais revistausenet.com Portuguese RSS Feeds Twitter UsenetReviewz Facebook UsenetReviewz Google+ UsenetReviewz YouTube UsenetReviewz Contact Us

Usenet Reviews
Best Newsgroup Providers Reviewed
Special Savings / Discounts
Free Trial Offers

Astraweb Review

Astraweb, a well known Usenet Service Provider and NOT a reseller, provides good value with a lot of options that make their Usenet service appealing. Astraweb Usenet has block accounts, variety of payment options, SSL and every feature you would need in a Usenet provider. Currently AstraWeb is offering some Usenet specials so be sure to take advantage of them.

Click here for the $11/month Astraweb Special Offer

Click here for the $15/2 months Astraweb Special Offer

Click here for the $96/year Astraweb Special Offer

Astraweb Binary Retention

Astraweb is currently offering 2174 across ALL groups.You can visit astraweb.com to check out their current retention levels and to watch it rise.

Pricing

Astraweb offers 2 general plan categories:

  • Unlimited Downloads – currently the best deal is the Astraweb $15 for 2 months special – which means you pay only $15 a month for two months of unlimited high speed downloads. Do this if you are considering Astraweb.  Take advantage of this deal while it lasts.
  • Also notable if you just want to check out Astraweb for a month would be the Astraweb $11 special.
  • Block Downloads Astraweb offers no time limit restrictions and you can buy blocks of Usenet downloads for $10 for 25 GB or $25 for 180 GB.

Astraweb Free Trial

Contrary to what you may have heard Astraweb does offer a free trial. Its only a 24 hour free trial and you would have to request a refund through support but it does give you enough time to check out their service. Also by taking advantage of their current $11 month or $15 / two months special, its hard to go wrong or lose a lot of cash with Astraweb.

Astraweb Special Coupons

Astraweb is currently offering some time limited specials which are effectively function as coupons so definitely take advantage of them. Click here to use the Astraweb $15 for two months special,  $11 month / Astraweb 11 special or $96 year time limited special

Astraweb Speed

Astraweb usenet download speeds are very good. Astraweb is not slow and to get an idea see our speed test below or you can do a traceroute on their website to get an idea of how fast you could connect to Astraweb. They are plugged into Level 3, LimeLight Networks and Savvis Intenet backbone servers and have servers located in North Carolina so you should get a good connection throughput in the USA( And in Europe)

Astraweb Ports  / Configuration Instructions

  • General Server: news.astraweb.com
  • European Server: eu.news.astraweb.com
  • US Server: us.news.astraweb.com
  • Ports: 119, 23, 1818 or 8080
  • Secure Server: ssl.astraweb.com Ports 443 or 563
  • ssl-eu.astraweb.com Ports 443 or 563 (European)
  • ssl-us.astraweb.com Ports 443 or 563 (US)
  • Maximum Connections: 50 connections

Security/Anonymity

SSL is offered included with every plan. Also no logs are kept, they have anonymous group requests and anonymous posting. If you can’t find a group, then you can request for it anonymously as a member.

Other Nice Features

Astraweb has good customer service, US and European server, SSL included all of which are additional positives

Conclusion

Astraweb offers a good price and is one of the best value among the Usenet service providers. Nice anonymity features, variety of payment options, high completion and high speed all indicate Astraweb as a good choice for a Usenet service provider. If you are interested be sure to take advantage of their limited time special pricing

Astraweb vs Other Usenet Providers

Astraweb is one of our top recommendations and where they really shine is in the area of price performance. Their $11 special is hard to beat for all that they offer. The one provider that we feel comes close or is potentially better would be Newshosting as they have unlimited Usenet at the same retention levels with a solid newsreader for $10 / month.

Recommendation

Offering a variety of features, solid service and very good pricing we recommend Astraweb especially check out the time limited specials $15 for two months special,  $11 month / time limited special or $96 year time limited special if you are looking to get a good deal.

Astraweb Video Review



Share This Webpage


Visit Site
Astraweb

Editor Rating
5 stars
Info
Price8-15
Retention2174
Free TrialFree Trial Available Yes
SSLSSL Yes
SpeedUnlimited
US Serverus server Yes
EU Servereu server Yes
PaypalPaypal Accepted Yes

Visit Astraweb


Astraweb

Visit Astraweb

19 Comments about Astraweb Review


  1. David R on July 25th, 2009

    I’ve had good experiences with Astraweb. There is no reason to pay $30 plus for Usenet acesss when Astraweb has this $11 special. Im rating them 5 stars all around

  2. cerjy on August 24th, 2009

    11/month. cheaper than a seedbox, constant download speed, much better collection of HD content.

  3. Dhampir on September 14th, 2009

    I’ve had only amazing experiences with Astraweb. $11/month is a great price. My 10Mbps connection is always maxed out. Never had any issues and I’ve been using it for a year… and using it a lot.

    Full stars because it completely deserves them.

  4. Jayme on October 31st, 2009

    Have used several access providers and Astraweb is the best.

  5. Timmah on January 4th, 2010

    Have used Astraweb for a couple of months now and have found it to be execellent in retention, speeds and price. Would highly recommend.

  6. UserX on August 8th, 2010

    I’ve been using Astraweb’s block accounts for the past 3 years. I don’t download much so it is extremely convenient. Their retention and blocks have increased year by year and they don’t nickel and dime for stuff like SSL. Great company, great prices.

  7. Enn Vee on August 17th, 2010

    I’ve been using Astraweb for years now and have had a great experiance. I recommend them highly.

  8. Zaac on September 21st, 2010

    Been using astraweb for about 4 months now. This is by far the experience i’ve ever had. The speeds are always consistent, I have 50mb internet and it always maxes out my connection. I used a lot of other service providers over the years and this has been the most reliable and fastest i’ve ever used. The retention is great – it looks like ive found the best of the best with the best prices.

  9. Johny on September 25th, 2010

    Simply the best service available. You can use PayPal instead of your credit card number, also cheap per month subscription and high download speeds (9MB/s are no problem), very simple and straight forward website. Sounds almost like a dream!

  10. Tiamat on November 1st, 2010

    Their 96 USD/year is the best you can achieve now and the speed is great (my 100Mbps connection is often used at 100% and the average speed here in eastern Europe using the american Astraweb server is 80% of 100Mbps).

  11. Chris W on January 4th, 2011

    Joined their 11 USD/Month deal and very pleased so far.
    Excellent speed and reliability from the European server (I am in the UK)
    I can highly recommend them.

  12. kostik on January 7th, 2011

    I did the same as Chris did, joined the 11 $ plan and so far im pretty pleased of the 120 mbit connection i got i normaly get 100 – 110. Good stuff

  13. Davidy on February 12th, 2011

    After reading the other customer reviews, anything I would say would just be redundant. Astraweb is hands down the best bang for the buck. If you want value (which in NSP terms means speed, SSL connectivity, access to the most newsgroups and retention)look no further. The annual rate is even sweeter.
    After all that, you might guess that the service is perfect. I will tell you that I have had a couple of “newsgroup not found on server” notices (not many) and unfortunately, more than should be “article not found” notices. If you have a wad to shoot, go Lexus and get Giganews. Never had ANY messages from their service, and if I could afford it, I wouldn’t go anywhere else. That said, for the “on-a-budget” crowd, Astraweb is NSP home.

  14. Jacki on April 7th, 2012

    I’m maxing my connection with 11 megabytes (MB) / sec

  15. Larry on May 4th, 2013

    I stopped using them and got a Newshosting account because Astraweb’s drives seem to or are becoming less and less reliable ! To many files are missing pieces to the point where qpar can’t repair because not enough blocks get downloaded ! I’ve been back and forth with them on overcoming the problem and they refuse to face their own problem !
    Unfortunately, Newshosting has their own problems (stops and starts on downloading). I’ve tested the net and it is definitely them. Giganews doesn’t have either problem but, at 3 times the price . . .

  16. Drake Jones on May 16th, 2013

    I used Astraweb for a several years. Astraweb folks are posting phoney positive reviews on websites like this one. There pretty bad as Usnet servers go. Your money can be better spent. Astraweb is honestly at the low end of the scale as far as retention and incompletes go.

  17. Alan on October 2nd, 2013

    I have been with AstraWeb for four years now. Before, I had Giganews, Newshosting and Easynews. Until AstraWeb upgraded their servers at the end of August, 2013 they’ve been a first class Usenet provider, with 20 simultaneous connections, free SSL, 6.5 – 6.9 MBs download speed and 1.1 MBs upload speed, etc…
    Unfortunately, speed is not the only factor. Starting in the last months, more than a third of the posts available on their servers have ALL their files 20-60% corrupted. PAR2 files can’t help, since more than half of the blocks are bad, including those in the PAR2 files itself. The posters of the corrupted files are among the best and reputable on Usenet, and I’ve never had problems with their post before. I’ve contacted AstraWeb technical support, but so far they did not acknoledge the problem. I intend to go back to Newshosting, as soon as possible.

  18. Bruv on November 29th, 2013

    @Alan That’s called DMCA, mate. Affects most/all Usenet service providers.

  19. Marion Marshall on November 29th, 2013

    Correct Bruv. Alan in your case I would recommend an account with Newshosting for $9.99/month or Giganews Platinum $15/yr with VPN – and a backup block account from Astraweb to fill in missing parts would be the best way

Leave a comment about Astraweb Review

Visit Astraweb